Thursday, August 9, 2012

Black Swallowtail (Papilio polyxenes asterius)

Butterflies have four distinct stages in their life cycle :
egg, caterpillar, chrysalis and the butterfly.
The eggs usually are laid singly on the larval host plant.
The caterpillars that hatch from the egg feed on the host plant.
When full grown, the caterpillar sheds its skin and transforms
into a pupa. This is called chrysalis in the case of butterfly.
After 10 to 20 days, the butterfly emerges from the pupal case.


  1. Hallo Dominique,
    bei diesen Fotos hast du aber viel Geduld aufbringen müssen..aber das hat sich wirklich gelohnt.. super Fotos..
    Grüsse Frank

    Hello Dominique,
    in these photos but you have to spend a lot of patience .. but it was really worth it .. great photos ..
    regards Frank

  2. Thank you very much Frank !! Yes, a lot of patience to have this goal.

  3. How marvelous these are Dominique, really wonderful share~


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...